EVIDENCE-BASED REVIEWS
This page compares brokers specifically on criteria that matter for EA and algorithmic trading — EA permissions, spreads, and regulation — not just generic broker rankings copied from elsewhere.

We compare MT5 brokers on the things that decide whether an Expert Advisor can run the way it was built to: what each broker costs per trade, which legal entity actually holds your money, and whether its MetaTrader 5 accounts allow Expert Advisors, hedging and scalping. All five brokers here offer MT5 and permit Expert Advisors. Everything is recorded from each company's own published terms and its regulators' public registers, with the date we checked. We don't score brokers or crown a winner — the right one depends on where you live and what your EA does. If you are working out where to start, our guide to choosing a broker for an Expert Advisor sets out what to check and in what order. None of the five accepts clients resident in the United States — US readers should go straight to MT5 brokers for US residents.
Lowest-spread account at each broker. Recorded 10 September 2026; AvaTrade spread 29 September 2026.
| Broker | Spread from | Cost per lot (round turn) |
Min deposit | Retail leverage | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AxiPro account · FCA 466201 | 0.0 pips EURUSD | $4.50 | $100 | 30:1 | Visit Axi |
| TickmillRaw account · FCA 717270 | 0.0 pips | $6.00 | $100 | 30:1 | Visit Tickmill |
| EightcapRaw account · FCA 921296 | 0.0 pips | $7.00 | $100 | 30:1 | Visit Eightcap |
| IC MarketsSee warnings below | 0.0 pips | $7.00 | $0 | 30:1 (1:5000 advertised) | Visit IC Markets |
| AvaTradeCentral Bank of Ireland C53877 | 0.9 pips EURUSDCompany not stated | Not published | $100 | 30:1 (400:1 advertised) | Visit AvaTrade |
On commission, Axi's Pro account costs $4.50 per standard lot round turn, against $6.00 at Tickmill and $7.00 at both Eightcap and IC Markets. Spreads are variable — every "from" figure is a best case, not an average — and the lowest cost per lot is not the same as the best broker for you, because spreads, slippage and execution speed all bite differently on an automated strategy. AvaTrade publishes a spread but no commission figure: its forex page quotes EUR/USD from 0.9 pips without saying which of its companies that applies to, next to a leverage figure of up to 400:1 that no EU or Australian retail client can be given — so it cannot be compared on cost with the other four. IC Markets advertises leverage of 1:5000, roughly 166 times the regulated retail cap, through an entity that is not the one holding its ASIC or CySEC licence — read its section below before opening an account. Full account-by-account pricing for each broker follows.
Read from each broker's own website and help centre, 29 September 2026.
| Broker | MT5 and Expert Advisors | Hedging | Scalping | Free VPS | Min trade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AxiUK help centre | Yes — EAs on desktop MT4 and MT5, not on the MT4 mobile app | Allowed on MetaTrader, per Axi's global help centre; the UK help centre does not say | Short-term trading allowed; no high-frequency trading; latency arbitrage cancelled | Yes — after 15 lots traded in the previous month, or with a USD 500 deposit | Not stated by the UK company |
| TickmillTickmill UK Ltd | Yes — MT5 on every account type, including Classic and Raw | Allowed — zero margin on hedged positions | Allowed, with no minimum holding time | No — 20% discount on BeeksFX VPS packages | 0.01 lots |
| EightcapGlobal site | Yes | Not stated | Allowed on Standard and Raw | Yes — ForexVPS, from 5 lots a month; supplied with Eightcap MT4; not for Australian retail clients | 0.01 lots |
| IC MarketsRaw Trading Ltd (global) | Yes — Raw Spread and Standard accounts | Allowed — no FIFO rule; netting accounts on request | Allowed — no minimum order distance | Sponsored from 15 lots a month in forex and metals, up to USD 35 a month | 0.01 lots |
| AvaTradeGroup website | Yes — your own or third-party EAs | Allowed — long and short on the same instrument | Allowed | No offer found | 0.01 lots |
Where a broker's own pages don't say, we write "not stated" rather than guess. Terms differ between the companies in each group, so the column under each broker's name shows which one we read. Whatever a broker publishes, check the account mode on a demo account before you run an EA live — it is the quickest way to find out whether a hedging EA will actually be able to open opposite positions.
On the Pro account, commission is $4.50 round turn, against $6.00 at Tickmill and $7.00 at IC Markets and Eightcap, with spreads from 0.0 pips on EURUSD. The Standard account carries no commission and quotes 0.68 pips on EURUSD. Minimum deposit is $100 on both, and accounts are available in GBP, EUR, USD, CHF and PLN.
Axi Financial Services (UK) Limited is authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority under FRN 466201 and registered in England and Wales. Leverage is 30:1 — the regulated retail cap, and the same figure Axi advertises on its UK site, so the advertised maximum matches what a regulated client actually gets. If you see a much higher number promoted under this brand, you are looking at a different entity.
For Expert Advisors: Axi's UK help centre confirms that EAs run on its desktop MT4 and MT5 platforms, though not on the MT4 mobile app. Its global help centre, which does not name the company it covers, permits hedging on MetaTrader but does not accept high-frequency trading, and cancels trades it identifies as latency arbitrage. UK clients can apply for a free VPS after trading 15 lots in the previous month, or when starting with a deposit of USD 500.
Raw-account commission is $3.00 per side, $6.00 round turn, with spreads from 0.0 pips and a $100 minimum deposit. The commission-free Classic account starts at 1.6 pips, also from $100.
Tickmill UK Ltd is authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority under FRN 717270, registered in England and Wales, with a separate Dubai representative office under DFSA reference F007663. A representative office is not a licensed operating entity — it cannot hold client money — so check which company appears on your agreement.
The advertised leverage isn't the FCA entity's. Tickmill promotes a default of 1:500 and up to 1:1000 on selected symbols, without stating anywhere which company in the group that applies to. The group includes Tickmill UK Ltd (FCA), Tickmill Europe Ltd (CySEC), Tickmill South Africa (FSCA) and Tickmill Ltd (Seychelles) — and a retail client of the FCA entity is capped at 30:1 by law. The 1:1000 figure is also narrower than it looks: it applies only up to 2 lots on forex and gold, falling to 1:500, then 1:100, and reaching 1:10 at 400 lots and above.
For Expert Advisors: Tickmill UK states that MT5 is available on every account type, including Classic and Raw, and that hedging and scalping are both allowed — with zero margin required on hedged positions and no minimum time a position must be held open. The minimum trade is 0.01 lots. It offers no free VPS; clients get 20% off BeeksFX VPS packages instead.
Of the five brokers here, Tickmill and Axi are the two whose websites name their regulated entity plainly in the footer rather than routing readers to an offshore company. That transparency counts for something, even with the leverage question above.
Raw account from 0.0 pips at $3.50 per side ($2.25 in GBP, €2.75 in EUR), or a commission-free Standard account from 1.0 pips. Both require $100. Platform coverage includes MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, TradingView and TradeLocker, which matters if you run Expert Advisors across more than one platform.
Eightcap Group Ltd is authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority under FRN 921296. The register notes it is authorised for specific activities and product types, so check the scope of its permissions against what you intend to trade. Eightcap publishes no headline leverage figure at all, but its own client agreement sets minimum margin for retail clients at 3.33% on major currency pairs — 30:1 — rising to 5% on non-majors, gold and major indices, 10% on other commodities and 20% on shares.
Worth knowing before you sign up: Eightcap's own website footer does not name the FCA entity. It names three offshore companies instead — Eightcap Global Limited in the Bahamas, Eightcap International Ltd in the Seychelles and Eightcap International Trading in Mauritius. An FCA-authorised company exists, but the site does not put it in front of visitors, so confirm which entity your client agreement names before depositing.
For Expert Advisors: Eightcap's global site lists scalping as allowed on both the Standard and Raw accounts, with a minimum trade of 0.01 lots, and offers a free ForexVPS server to clients who trade 5 lots a month (not available to Australian retail clients). The VPS page says the server comes with Eightcap MT4 pre-installed and does not mention MT5. Eightcap does not state a hedging policy for clients, so check the account mode before running a hedging EA. Its global site also states that CFD trading isn't available to US residents.
Commission falls to $1.00 per side on Raw Pro+, though that requires a $100,000 deposit. The everyday Raw Spread account is $3.50 per side from 0.0 pips, the Standard account is commission-free from 0.8 pips, and both can be opened with no minimum deposit at all.
Three separate entities operate under this brand. International Capital Markets Pty Ltd is licensed in Australia under ASIC AFSL 335692. IC Markets (EU) Ltd holds CySEC licence 362/18 for European clients. The global website is operated by Raw Trading Ltd, licensed in the Seychelles under SD018 — and that is the entity most non-EU, non-Australian sign-ups are routed to.
For Expert Advisors: the global entity offers MT5 on both its Raw Spread and Standard accounts, allows hedging — its MT5 page states there is no first in, first out (FIFO) rule, and netting accounts are available on request — and allows scalping with no minimum order distance. Trades start at 0.01 lots, and its MetaTrader 5 servers are in the Equinix NY4 data centre in New York. It sponsors a VPS, up to USD 35 a month, for clients who trade at least 15 lots a month in forex and metals.
Three things a prospective client should know, all of them matters of public record.
Leverage of 1:5000. The global entity advertises up to 1:5000 on MetaTrader and 1:1000 on cTrader — roughly 166 times the 30:1 retail cap that applies under the group's own ASIC and CySEC licences. Combined with a $0 minimum deposit, that is not a feature but the practical reason those caps exist: at that leverage, a position can be closed out by a market move of a fraction of a percent.
The UK regulator lists the global site as unauthorised. The FCA has published an entry naming icmarkets.com/global/en/ and ic.com/en/ as an unauthorised firm that may be providing financial services in the UK without permission, warning that clients dealing with unauthorised firms have less protection if things go wrong. Separately, IC Markets (EU) Ltd's UK permission has lapsed — FRN 827935 shows as no longer authorised.
An unresolved class action. International Capital Markets Pty Ltd and its founder are respondents in Federal Court of Australia proceeding VID 1088 of 2023, alleging that CFDs were unsuitable products and that the company engaged in misleading, deceptive and unconscionable conduct in supplying them to retail investors, including failing to adequately warn of the risks of highly leveraged trading. The class covers retail investors who acquired CFDs between 20 December 2017 and 23 August 2024. These are allegations that have not been tested in court, defences have been filed, and the proceedings are ongoing.
Minimum deposit of $100, or the equivalent in EUR, GBP or AUD. For clients of its regulated European entity, retail leverage is 30:1 on major currency pairs and 20:1 on non-majors, in line with the regulated cap — but its forex page also advertises leverage of up to 400:1 without saying which company in the group that applies to. Platform coverage includes MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5, and AvaTrade also offers copy trading through ZuluTrade and DupliTrade.
AvaTrade now quotes a spread, but not for a named company. When we checked on 10 September 2026 its trading conditions pages said "competitive spreads" and gave no number. On 29 September its forex page stated that the EUR/USD spread starts as low as 0.9 pips — on the same page as the 400:1 leverage figure, which no EU or Australian retail client can be given, so the spread quoted may belong to a different AvaTrade company from the one you would join. It still publishes no commission figure. We are not suggesting the pricing is uncompetitive; we are saying you should get your own account's pricing in writing before funding it.
For Expert Advisors: AvaTrade confirms you can run an Expert Advisor, whether it is your own or a third party's, and allows a long and a short position on the same instrument at the same time. The minimum MetaTrader trade size is 0.01. We found no free VPS offer on its site.
The group is substantial and properly licensed in the markets it serves: AVA Trade EU Ltd under the Central Bank of Ireland (C53877), DT Direct Investment Hub Ltd under CySEC (347/17), Ava Capital Markets Australia Pty Ltd under ASIC (406684), plus entities regulated in the British Virgin Islands, Japan, South Africa, Abu Dhabi, Israel and Colombia.
It holds no UK authorisation. That is not a criticism — the Central Bank of Ireland is a tier-one regulator and the Irish entity is a genuine one — but it does mean UK clients are not covered by the FSCS or the Financial Ombudsman Service through this broker.
From each broker's published disclosures and the relevant public registers, 10 September 2026.
A brand is not a legal entity. Every broker here operates several companies, and the protection you get depends entirely on which one you are onboarded to — not on the strongest regulator named anywhere in the group. The differences between ASIC, FCA and CySEC decide what that protection is actually worth. Check which entity appears on your client agreement before you deposit, and verify it on that regulator's own register.
| Broker | Legal entity | Regulator | Licence | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Axi | Axi Financial Services (UK) Limited | UK Financial Conduct Authority | FRN 466201 | Registered in England and Wales, Co. 6050593 |
| Tickmill | Tickmill UK Ltd | UK Financial Conduct Authority | FRN 717270 | Registered in England and Wales, Co. 09592225 |
| Tickmill | Tickmill UK Ltd | Dubai Financial Services Authority | F007663 | Representative office only — cannot hold client money |
| Eightcap | Eightcap Group Ltd | UK Financial Conduct Authority | FRN 921296 | Authorised for specific activities — check the register for scope |
| Eightcap | Eightcap Global Limited | Securities Commission of The Bahamas | SIA-F220 | Named in the site footer in place of the FCA entity |
| Eightcap | Eightcap International Ltd | Seychelles FSA | SD100 | Named in the site footer |
| Eightcap | Eightcap International Trading | Mauritius FSC | GB25204603 | Named in the site footer |
| IC Markets | International Capital Markets Pty Ltd | Australia, ASIC | AFSL 335692 | Respondent in Federal Court proceeding VID 1088 of 2023 |
| IC Markets | IC Markets (EU) Ltd | Cyprus, CySEC | 362/18 | UK permission lapsed — FCA FRN 827935 no longer authorised |
| IC Markets | Raw Trading Ltd | Seychelles FSA | SD018 | Entity behind the global site; advertises 1:5000 leverage |
| AvaTrade | AVA Trade EU Ltd | Central Bank of Ireland | C53877 | Principal European entity |
| AvaTrade | DT Direct Investment Hub Ltd | Cyprus, CySEC | 347/17 | |
| AvaTrade | Ava Capital Markets Australia Pty Ltd | Australia, ASIC | 406684 | |
| AvaTrade | Ava Trade Markets Ltd | BVI FSC | SIBA/L/13/1049 | Plus entities in Japan, South Africa, Abu Dhabi, Israel and Colombia |
Licence numbers are given so you can verify each entity yourself rather than take our word for it — every regulator listed publishes a searchable public register. Neither IC Markets nor AvaTrade holds a UK authorisation: AvaTrade has no FCA entity at all, and IC Markets' European entity can no longer do regulated business in the UK. That is a statement about market coverage, not about their standing in Australia, Ireland or Cyprus, where both are properly licensed.
Brand impersonation is endemic in this industry, and it targets the best-known names hardest. The UK regulator currently publishes warnings naming variants of three of the five brokers on this page — including one entry, "Eightcap VIP / eightcap.vip", listed as an unauthorised firm impersonating a genuine business.
Clone operations copy a real broker's branding, licence number and even its registered address, then take deposits that never reach the real firm. A licence number displayed on a website proves nothing on its own, because clones copy those too.
Before depositing anywhere: find the firm on the regulator's own register, and use the contact details and website address shown on the register rather than the ones on the site that brought you there. If they differ, stop.
From the brokers' own websites, the CFTC's published dealer figures and NFA rules, 29 September 2026.
None of the five brokers on this page accepts clients resident in the United States. IC Markets, Axi, Tickmill and AvaTrade say so on their own websites, and Eightcap's global site states that CFD trading isn't available to US residents. We have no commercial relationship with any US broker, and nothing in this section is an affiliate link.
A firm dealing retail forex with the US public registers with the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) as a retail foreign exchange dealer and joins the National Futures Association (NFA). The CFTC's figures as of 31 July 2026 list four registered retail foreign exchange dealers:
| Dealer | Registered company | MetaTrader on its US website |
|---|---|---|
| FOREX.com | GAIN Capital Group LLC | MT4 and MT5 |
| tastyfx | tastyfx LLC | MT5 (MT4 also listed) |
| trading.com | trading.com Markets Inc | MT5 |
| OANDA | OANDA Corporation | MT4 only — no MT5 listed |
The NFA's rules say a US dealer "may not carry offsetting positions in a customer account and must offset the positions on a first-in, first-out basis." In practice that means no hedging — you cannot hold a buy and a sell on the same pair at once — and when you close a position, the oldest open trade on that pair closes first. A customer can still direct the dealer to close a same-size position out of order.
That breaks grid, hedging and many recovery EAs, which depend on opening opposite positions or closing trades out of order. An EA written for US accounts has to close trades oldest first and never hold a buy and a sell on the same pair. Some EA sellers state that their product has a FIFO or NFA-compatible setting; check it on a demo account at the US dealer before trusting it with money.
Leverage is lower too. The NFA requires a security deposit of 2% on major currency pairs and 5% on others — a maximum of 50:1 and 20:1.
Before depositing with any firm as a US resident, look it up on the NFA's BASIC register. An offshore broker that accepts US clients without appearing there is not registered with US regulators, and you would not have the protections that registration brings. The rules quoted above are in the NFA's forex regulatory guide.
We check five things, and we tell you what we found whether or not it flatters the broker. We do not run a scoring system and we do not crown a winner — what suits an algorithmic trader in Sydney is not what suits one in Dublin. Everything below is recorded from primary sources and dated, so you can check it yourself.
A brand name tells you nothing. We identify every company operating under each broker's brand, find its licence number on the regulator's own public register, and publish both — including the offshore entities most sign-ups are quietly routed to. We do not require a particular regulator, because a broker properly licensed in Ireland or Australia is not disqualified by having no UK permission. We require that you can see which entity you are dealing with.
Spread, commission and minimum deposit are taken from the broker's own website on a stated date, per account type, so you can compare like with like rather than a headline "from" figure against a full-service account. Where a broker doesn't publish its pricing, we say so and it counts against them — you cannot assess a cost that isn't disclosed.
We record the maximum leverage a broker advertises alongside the retail cap that applies under its licence, because those two numbers frequently disagree. Where they diverge sharply, it usually means the advertised figure belongs to a different company in the group from the one holding the tier-one licence — and taking it up means being onboarded by that other entity, with the protections that entity carries.
An automated strategy is worthless at a broker that restricts it. We check each broker's stated policy on Expert Advisors, scalping and hedging, which MetaTrader versions are supported, its minimum trade size, whether it pays for a VPS, and which countries it will not accept clients from. Where a broker's own pages don't answer a question, we say "not stated" rather than fill the gap from a review site.
We search regulators' public warning lists for each brand and its variants, and check for material legal proceedings on the public record. Where we find something, we publish it with a source and make clear what is proven and what is merely alleged. We also disclose where we earn a commission, because a review that hides its own interests is worth no more than the marketing it claims to see through.
All five brokers compared on this page — Axi, Tickmill, Eightcap, IC Markets and AvaTrade — offer MetaTrader 5 and permit Expert Advisors, according to their own websites on 29 September 2026. Which one suits you depends on where you live, which company in the group you would be onboarded to, and what your EA does.
Tickmill, IC Markets and AvaTrade state that hedging is allowed, and Axi's global help centre permits hedging on MetaTrader, though its UK help centre does not say. Eightcap does not state a hedging policy for clients. Check the account mode on a demo account before running a hedging EA live.
A hedging account can hold several positions on the same symbol, including a buy and a sell at the same time. A netting account holds one net position per symbol, so a new order in the opposite direction reduces or reverses the existing position instead of opening a second one. Grid, hedging and many recovery Expert Advisors need a hedging account to work as designed.
Some do, if you trade enough. On 29 September 2026, Axi offered UK clients a free VPS after 15 lots in the previous month or with a USD 500 deposit, Eightcap offered one from 5 lots a month, and IC Markets sponsored up to USD 35 a month from 15 lots a month in forex and metals. Tickmill offers a 20% discount on BeeksFX packages instead, and we found no free VPS offer from AvaTrade.
None of the five brokers on this page accepts US residents. In the US, retail forex dealers register with the CFTC and join the NFA. The CFTC's figures as of 31 July 2026 list four: FOREX.com, tastyfx, trading.com and OANDA. FOREX.com, tastyfx and trading.com list MetaTrader 5 on their US websites; OANDA's US site lists MetaTrader 4 only.
Yes, but US rules limit what it can do. NFA rules require US dealers to close positions on a first-in, first-out basis and prohibit offsetting positions in the same account, so an EA cannot hedge and must close the oldest trade on a pair first. Leverage is capped at 50:1 on major currency pairs and 20:1 on others. Grid and hedging EAs will not run as designed.
An expert advisor is only as effective as the environment it operates within. Even the most sophisticated algorithmic strategy will inevitably fail if plagued by poor execution quality, excessive slippage, or inadequate server infrastructure.
Beyond raw speed, hidden spreads and deliberate broker interference can silently erode your edge. Whether your broker routes your orders to the market or takes the other side of them is the structural difference behind that. Partnering with a broker that actively supports and provides the requisite technical foundation for automated trading is not a luxury — it is a baseline requirement for sustained profitability.


© 2026 The Robotic Trader. All rights reserved.